Blizzard Announces The Overwatch World Cup

Seaslug Overwatch eSports Leave a Comment

In a blog post today Blizzard announced a new Overwatch tournament: The Overwatch World Cup.

An unorthodox tournament, the Overwatch World Cup will qualify teams through a vote. The voting method will begin with nominations by Blizzard. The company will choose “a mix of representatives from each participating country, including pro gamers, skilled community personalities from the area, and local players who’ve climbed the ranks in Season 1 of Competitive Play.”

Starting on Thursday, August 11th, the Overwatch community will vote for the players they most want to see play for their nation. Only players with an Overwatch license will be able to participate in this vote.

After the teams have been decided, the national teams will participate in a best-of-three, single elimination, online qualifier in September. Based on the online qualifier, four teams from the Americas region, six teams from the Europe region and six teams from Asia-Pacific region will qualify for the finals.

The teams that survive the online qualifiers will then play at BlizzCon in November in a tournament that both involves a round robin group stage and a best of five – single elimination finals.

This tournament will not offer anything in terms of prize pool; instead it is meant to be an exhibition to, “create a fun and spirited worldwide competition that gives players an opportunity to compete and cheer for a local team.”

As always, check with us here at PWNCAST Da!ly Quest for all your Blizzard news.

Content Writer - Overwatch
I am a longtime gamer, first playing Magic: The Gathering, then World of Warcraft, Team Fortress 2, Dota 2 and now Overwatch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.